An incident occurred at last weekends match between Northampton & Saracens which has caused much debate within rugby.
The incident in question starts off with a tackle by the Saracens #10 Farrell & Saints back row Harrison.
Question 1 - is the tackle legal?
Question 2 - the reaction of Harrison (on the floor) & Farrell (stood up) in the 'scuffle' after.
Question 1 - The tackle;
This tackle is right on the edge however the hips do not pass the horizontal (just) and the player lands on their back. You could argue a case for both play on and penalty and potential card - it is down to interpretation.
Question 2 - The scuffle;
We see Harrison retaliate but nothing of note on the floor. The issue arises with Farrell when they're on their feet. He clearly has a hold of Harrisons jersey but then leads with the forearm.
Where the referee 'played-on' for the tackle, he chose to penalize Farrell for the retaliation. Again, you can argue this point and the sanction, however it enabled the referee to defuse the situation by placing a sanction on an infringement and using contextual judgement.
Do you have a different view? We would love to hear.