Joy Neville - International Player to WC Final Ref P1
August 25, 2017
Law Talk - No turnover from a maul?
August 30, 2017
The player is held up and there is an 'unsuccessful' end to the maul. Typically this is a turn over to the team not in possession...but not this time.
There is an occasion when the team with the ball retain possession and this is direct from a kick as shown in this video.
Law 17.6 (h) 17.6 Unsuccessful end to a maul (a) A maul ends unsuccessfully if it remains stationary or has stopped moving forward for longer than 5 seconds and a scrum is ordered. (b) A maul ends unsuccessfully if the ball becomes unplayable or collapses (not as a result of foul play) and a scrum is ordered. (c) Scrum following maul. The ball is thrown in by the team not in possession when the maul began. If the referee cannot decide which team had possession, the team moving forward before the maul stopped throws in the ball. If neither team was moving forward, the attacking team throws in the ball. (h) Scrum after a maul when catcher is held. If a player catches the ball direct from an opponent’s kick, except from a kick-off or a drop-out, and the player is immediately held by an opponent, a maul may form. Then if the maul remains stationary, stops moving forward for longer than 5 seconds, or if the ball becomes unplayable, and a scrum is ordered, the team of the ball-catcher throws in the ball. ‘Direct from an opponent’s kick’ means the ball did not touch another player or the ground before the player caught it.